Document Records - Vintage Blues and Jazz

Document Records
Rev F W McGee Vol 1 1927 - 1929

9.99    9.99 New
Sorry | Temporarily Out of Stock

This album can be downloaded, fully or by individual tracks, directly from these recommended on-line retailers. Cover artwork may differ to that shown here.

Available as a download on eMusic


Rev. F W McGee


Rev. F W McGee
01 - Lion of the tribe of Judah Listen
02 - He is a saviour for me Listen
03 - You got to walk that lonesome valley Listen
04 - With his stripes we are healed Listen
05 - Jonah in the belly of the whale Listen
06 - The crooked made straight Listen
07 - The Holy City Listen
08 - The crucifixion of Jesus Listen
09 - The resurrection of Jesus Listen
10 - Babylon is falling down Listen
11 - Rock of ages, with scripture lesson Listen
12 - The half ain`t never been told Listen
13 - The scarlet thread in the window Listen
14 - A city of pure gold Listen
15 - Jesus cried Listen
16 - Three ways - part 1 Listen
17 - Three ways - part 2 Listen
18 - The love of God Listen
19 - Death may be your pay check Listen
20 - Sin is to blame for it all Listen
21 - Jesus the light of the world Listen
22 - He`s got the whole world in his hand Listen

Highlighted by Jonah in the Belly of the Whale and With His Stripes We Are Healed, which together combined for one of the biggest “race records” of its time, the first volume in this retrospective of the career of Rev. F.W. McGee assembles some of the finest gospel sides of the pre-war era. Opening with Lion of the Tribe of Judah, McGee’s lone recording for Okeh and a prime example of the sanctified tradition, the disc also includes The Crooked Made Straight and Rock of Ages, both of which are fascinating attempts to combine congregrational singing with impassioned preaching. - Jason Ankeny

Home SearchSpecials Services MP3'sArchive News Contact View Cart