Document Records - Vintage Blues and Jazz

Document Records
Lucille Bogan Vol 1 1923 - 1930

9.99    9.99 New
Sorry | Temporarily Out of Stock

This album can be downloaded, fully or by individual tracks, directly from these recommended on-line retailers. Cover artwork may differ to that shown here.

Available as a download on iTunes

Available as a download on eMusic


Lucille Bogan (Bessie Jackson)

01 - The pawn shop blues Listen
02 - Lonesome daddy blues Listen
03 - Chirpin` the blues Listen
04 - Triflin` blues Listen
05 - Don`t mean you no good blues Listen
06 - Sweet Patunia Listen
07 - Levee blues Listen
08 - Kind Stella blues Listen
09 - Jim Tampa blues Listen
10 - War time man blues Listen
11 - Cravin` whiskey blues Listen
12 - Nice and kind blues Listen
13 - Women won`t need no men Listen
14 - Doggone wicked blues Listen
15 - Oklahoma man blues Listen
16 - New way blues Listen
17 - Pay roll blues Listen
18 - Coffee grindin` blues Listen
19 - Pot hound blues Listen
20 - My Georgia grind Listen
21 - Whiskey selling woman Listen

14 track compilation split (21 tracks in total) evenly down the middle between Bogan and her main piano accompanist, Roland, who also doubles on guitar on some tracks. The Bogan sides are a particular delight, featuring a version of Barbecue Bess that is nothing short of sublime. As all of these tracks are rescued off highly battered 78s, the fidelity is about what you would expect. But that's no reason to deter you from enjoying this timeless music.

Home SearchSpecials Services MP3'sArchive News Contact View Cart