Document Records - Vintage Blues and Jazz

Document Records
Blind Teddy Darby 1929 - 1937

7.49    7.49 New
Sorry | Temporarily Out of Stock

This album can be downloaded, fully or by individual tracks, directly from these recommended on-line retailers. Cover artwork may differ to that shown here.

Available as a download on iTunes

Available as a download on eMusic


Blind Teddy Darby

01 - Lose your mind
02 - My Laona blues
03 - Lawdy lawdy worried blues
04 - What am I to do?
05 - Deceiving blues
06 - Built right on the ground
07 - She thinks she`s slick
08 - Low mellow
09 - Don`t like the way you do
10 - She ain`t no girl of mine
11 - Bought a bottle of gin
12 - Pitty-pat blues
13 - Meat and bread blues (relief blues)
14 - I`m gonna wreck your Vee Eight - part 1
15 - I`m gonna wreck your Vee Eight - part 2
16 - Pokino blues
17 - Spike driver
18 - The girl I left behind
19 - Heart trouble blues
20 - Bootleggin` ain`t good no more

With the exception of two songs that have not been found, the complete recordings of singer/guitarist Blind Teddy Darby are on this CD. An expressive if not overly memorable singer, Darby appeared on 20 selections recorded at five sessions (one apiece for Paramount, Victor, Bluebird, Vocalion, and Decca) that took place two years apart from each other. The instrumentation and personnel changed from session to session, ranging from unaccompanied performances by Darby to a jam on What Am I to Do that includes cornetist Baby Jay, trombonist Ike Rodgers, and pianist Roosevelt Sykes.

This CD gives collectors a chance to very easily have the lifework of an obscure but worthy blues performer. - Scott Yanow

Home SearchSpecials Services MP3'sArchive News Contact View Cart