Document Records - Vintage Blues and Jazz

Document Records
Leadbelly and Josh White 1937 - 1946

9.99    9.99 New
Sorry | Temporarily Out of Stock

This album can be downloaded, fully or by individual tracks, directly from these recommended on-line retailers. Cover artwork may differ to that shown here.

Available as a download on iTunes

Available as a download on eMusic


Josh White
Leadbelly with Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee


01 - Untitled (LC) Listen
02 - Introduction (WNYC B`cast) Listen
03 - Ain`t going down (WNYC B`cast) Listen
04 - Don`t you love your daddy no more (NBC Chamber Music B`cast) Listen
05 - You can`t lose me Charlie (NBC Chamber Music B`cast) Listen
06 - When you get to sleep, please don`t sleep too long (WNYC B`cast) Listen
07 - Uncle Sam says (Bottle Up And Go) Listen
08 - Dear Mr. President - President Roosevelt (LC) Listen
09 - If you want to do your part Listen
10 - Hitler song Listen
11 - Rock Island line (AFRS Jubilee 107) Listen
12 - Jim Crow blues (AFRS Jubilee 107) Listen

Leadbelly with Sonny Terry and Brownie McGhee
13 - Careless love Listen

Joshua White
14 - Hold on (The Union Boys) Listen
15 - Motherless children (alt. take 1) Listen
16 - Motherless children (alt. take 2) Listen
17 - Number 12 train (alt. take) Listen
18 - When I lay down (alt. take) Listen
19 - Don`t lie buddy Listen
20 - No more blues (No more bread lines)(alt. take) Listen
21 - One meat ball (alt. take) Listen
22 - In my time of dying Listen
23 - Evil hearted man (AFRS Jubilee 219) Listen
24 - One meat ball (AFRS Jubilee 219) Listen
25 - Take a gal like you Listen
26 - Jelly jelly Listen
27 - Whatcha gonna do (Sometime) Listen
28 - Trouble (alt. take) Listen
29 - Beloved comrade Listen
30 - Free and equal blues Listen

The Remaing Titles

Lead Belly, vocal, 12-string guitar.
Josh White, vocal, guitar.

With contributions by;
Paul Howard Mason, zither.
Brownie McGhee, vocal, guitar.
Sonny Terry, harmonica.
Willie "The Lion" Smith, piano.
"Pops" Foster, bass.
Pete Seeger, vocal, banjo.
And others.

Genres: Blues, guitar; 12-string guitar; Folk.
Informative booklet notes by Dave Moore.
Detailed discography.

Leadbelly kicks off with an Untitled song (from the 1937 Library of Congress session) about the 1898 Spanish American War, which transformed the U.S.A. into a world power. The track "Ain't Going Down" is from the live New York radio station WNYC Leadbelly session introduced by Woody Guthrie. In another radio session 2 months later Leadbelly recorded "Don't Lose Your Daddy" and "You Can't Lose Me Charlie". With the entry of the U.S.A. into World War 2, Leadbelly recorded supportive songs such as "Uncle Sam Says", "If You Want To Do Your Part", "Hitler Song" and "Dear Mr. President/President Roosevelt". Leadbelly also contributed to the war effort by performing for the Armed Forces Radio Service a version of "Rock Island Line".

  As part of Josh White's support for the war effort, he go it together with friends to form the group The Union Boys, recording "Hold On". Josh also recorded the tracks "Evil Hearted Man" and "One Meat Ball" for the AFRS. The rest of the tracks on this collection are from the sessions he recorded for Moe Asch. These include the tracks "Motherless Children", "Number 12 Train", "When I Lay Down", "No More Blues", "One Meat Ball" and "Trouble". Further sessions recorded for Asch feature him singing on the track "Don't Lie Buddy" with his old friend Leadbelly. Other tracks include "Beloved Comrade" and "Jelly Jelly". The remaining titles "Free and Equal Blues", "Take A Girl Like You" and "Whatcha Gonna Do" were recorded in 1945.

The bulk of Leadbelly's recordings have already been issued on 12 Document Record CD's and Josh White is represented by 7 volumes in the document series.


Home SearchSpecials Services MP3'sArchive News Contact View Cart