Document Records - Vintage Blues and Jazz

Document Records
Johnny Shines - Live In Europe 1975

9.99    9.99 New
Sorry | Temporarily Out of Stock

This album can be downloaded, fully or by individual tracks, directly from these recommended on-line retailers. Cover artwork may differ to that shown here.

Available as a download on iTunes

Available as a download on eMusic


Johnny Shines


Johnny Shines
01 - 32-20 blues Listen
02 - Did you ever love a Woman (That didn`t love you) Listen
03 - Instrumental Listen
04 - Stormy Monday Listen
05 - I believe I'll dust my broom Listen
06 - I don`t know Listen
07 - Rock me mama Listen
08 - Motherless children Listen
09 - Got my mojo working Listen
10 - How long Listen
11 - Kind hearted woman Listen
12 - Won`t be your fool no more Listen
13 - Roll and tumble blues Listen
14 - Why I sing the blues so sad Listen
15 - Instrumental Listen
16 - Why do you treat me so mean Listen
17 - St. Louis blues Listen
18 - You ain't sugar no more Listen
19 - Shake your money maker (Instrumental) Listen
20 - Ramblin` Listen
21 - Stand by me Listen

Johnny Shines, vocal, guitar.
Genres: Mississippi country blues, bottleneck-slide guitar.
Informative 12 page, illustrated, booklet notes by Bob Groom.
Released fro this first time, the recordings on this Document CD are from 3 nights that Johnny played at Jazzland. The songs exemplify Johnny's vocal range and lyric invention as he touches on the sad themes of loneliness, illness, aging and mortality. Like Big Boy Crudup, in standard tuning Johnny was a functional guitarist good but not flashy, but when using a slide he overwhelmed the listener with his playing. Bob Groom in the cd sleeve notes says of Johnny: "The sheer power, dynamic range and emotional intensity of Johnny`s music must put him in the top rank of blues vocalists. I once dubbed him the male equivalent of Memphis Minnie and he was flattered, certainly not offended, by the comparison." In addition to performances of some of Johnny Shine's classic commercial recordings and covers of well known Robert Johnson recordings this album boasts hitherto unrecorded numbers by Shines himself. This recording extends our appreciation of his talents as a performer and recording artist, putting him amongst the very greatest blues artists of all time. 
Home SearchSpecials Services MP3'sArchive News Contact View Cart