Document Records - Vintage Blues and Jazz

Document Records
Memphis Minnie & Kansas Joe Vol 3 1931 - 1932

9.99    9.99 New
Sorry | Temporarily Out of Stock

This album can be downloaded, fully or by individual tracks, directly from these recommended on-line retailers. Cover artwork may differ to that shown here.

Available as a download on iTunes

Available as a download on eMusic


'Kansas Joe' McCoy
Memphis Minnie


Memphis Minnie and Kansas Joe
01 - I don`t want that junk outa you Listen
02 - Crazy cryin` blues Listen
03 - Tricks ain`t walking no more Listen
04 - Don`t bother it Listen
05 - Today today blues Listen
06 - Lay my money down (if you run around) Listen
07 - Hard down lie Listen
08 - Somebody`s got to help you Listen
09 - Pickin` the blues Listen
10 - Let`s go to town Listen
11 - Soo cow soo Listen
12 - After while blues Listen
13 - Fishin` blues Listen
14 - Jailhouse trouble blues Listen
15 - Outdoor blues Listen
16 - Where is my good man? Listen
17 - You stole my cake Listen
18 - Kind treatment blues Listen
19 - You know you done me wrong Listen
20 - Joliet bound Listen
21 - Stranger`s blues Listen
22 - Socket blues Listen

Memphis Minnie, vocal, guitar, bottleneck-slide guitar, Kansas Koe McCoy, vocal, guitar, mandolin.
Genres: Memphis Country Blues, Country Blues Guitar, Country Blues Mandolin.
Informative booklet notes by Alan Balfour.
Detailed discography.
From this album’s booklet notes:
At the dawn of 1931 sales of race records were in sharp decline. Companies who six months previously had pressed in the region of 2,000 copies per record had cut that almost by half. Industry figures of the time showed that race records only accounted for about one percent of total sales, a very significant drop from the previous year. It was in this climate, and the period covered by this compilation, that Memphis Minnie and Kansas Joe continued to record. A measure of the seriousness of the situation as it affected them can probably be gauged by their output; barely thirty titles recorded, at least half a dozen of which never saw release. Despite all this the quality of their recordings didn't appear to suffer and, if anything, seemed to draw from Minnie a renewed sense of personal intensity both in lyric and playing.
Home SearchSpecials Services MP3'sArchive News Contact View Cart