Document Records - Vintage Blues and Jazz

Document Records
Kokomo Arnold Vol 3 1936 - 1937

9.99    9.99 New
Sorry | Temporarily Out of Stock

This album can be downloaded, fully or by individual tracks, directly from these recommended on-line retailers. Cover artwork may differ to that shown here.

Available as a download on iTunes

Available as a download on eMusic


Kokomo Arnold
Alice Moore
Oscar`s Chicago Swingers
Signifying Mary Johnson


Kokomo Arnold
01 - Grass cutter blues (Alice Moore, vocal) Listen
02 - Telephone blues (Alice Moore, vocal) Listen
03 - Dark angel (Alice Moore, vocal) Listen
04 - Money tree man (Alice Moore, vocal) Listen
05 - Delmar Avenue (Signifying Mary Johnson, vocal) Listen
06 - I`m going fishing too (Alice Moore, vocal) Listen
07 - Three men (Alice Moore, vocal) Listen
08 - Shake that thing Listen
09 - Try some of that (Oscar`s Chicago Swingers) Listen
10 - My gal`s been foolin` me (Oscar`s Chicago Swingers) Listen
11 - Running drunk again Listen
12 - Coffin blues Listen
13 - Lonesome road blues Listen
14 - Mister Charlie Listen
15 - Backfence picket blues Listen
16 - Fool man blues Listen
17 - Long and tall Listen
18 - Salty dog Listen
19 - Cold winter blues Listen
20 - Sister Jane cross the hall Listen
21 - Wild water blues Listen
22 - Laugh and grin blues Listen

Kokomo Arnold Vol 3: 22nd May 1936 to March 12th 1937

Kokomo Arnold, vocal steel, bottleneck-slide guitar’

Includes: Alice Moore vocal, Signifying Mary Johnson, vocal; Lovin’ Sam Theard, vocal; Roosevelt Sykes, piano; Albert Ammons, piano, Peetie Wheatstraw, piano and others...

Georgia blues / Chicago blues.

Informative booklet notes by Keith Briggs

Detailed Discography


James “Kokomo” Arnold was born in Georgia on September 15, 1901, and began his musical career in Buffalo, New York in the early '20s. During prohibition, he worked primarily as a bootlegger, and performing music was a only sideline to him. Nonetheless, he worked out a distinctive style of bottleneck slide guitar and blues singing that set him apart from his contemporaries.

In the early 1930's Arnold moved to Chicago in order to be near to where the action was as a bootlegger, but the repeal of the Volstead Act put him out of business. As a result he turned instead to music as a full-time vocation.

From his first Decca session of September 10, 1934 until he finally called it quits after his session of May 12, 1938, Kokomo Arnold made eighty-eight sides under his own name for the label, which rejected only nine of them - two of the rejected titles have since been recovered.


The tracks on this Document Records CD were recorded between May 1936 to March 1937. In these sessions he was accompanied on various occasions by piano players Roosevelt Sykes, Albert Ammons and Peetie Wheatstraw.


Home SearchSpecials Services MP3'sArchive News Contact View Cart