Document Records - Vintage Blues and Jazz

Document Records
Rev D C Rice 1928 - 1930

9.99    9.99 New
Sorry | Temporarily Out of Stock

This album can be downloaded, fully or by individual tracks, directly from these recommended on-line retailers. Cover artwork may differ to that shown here.

Available as a download on eMusic


Rev. D C Rice


Rev. D C Rice
01 - The angels rolled the stone away Listen
02 - A sure foundation Listen
03 - Come and see Listen
04 - Lord keep me with a mind Listen
05 - Leaving all to follow Jesus Listen
06 - Shall not a dog move his tongue Listen
07 - Take my yoke upon you Listen
08 - The wise and the foolish virgins Listen
09 - The sure foundation - part 2 Listen
10 - I will arise and go to my father Listen
11 - He`s got his eyes on you Listen
12 - I`m in the battlefield for my Lord Listen
13 - I'm pressing on Listen
14 - No night there Listen
15 - Sin is to blame Listen
16 - Tell it over again Listen
17 - Who do you call that wonderful counsellor? Listen
18 - I mean to live so God can use me Listen
19 - Were you there when they crucified my Lord? Listen
20 - He arose them from the dead Listen
21 - Testify - for my Lord is coming back again Listen
22 - When I take my vacation in Heaven Listen
23 - A woman went one thousand miles to see a man Listen
24 - I`m gonna wait right here till he comes Listen
25 - We got the same kinda power over here Listen
26 - New born again Listen

Rev D.C. Right, sermons with singing.

Includes; Mr. Hunter, trombone, Louis Hooper, piano; Unknown, mandolin, triangle, trombone, stand-up bass, tambourine, trumpet, drums.

Genres: Preacher with Sermon and Singing accompanied by instruments. Gospel.

Informative booklet notes by Roger Misiewicz
Includes detailed discography.

From this album's booklet notes.
Zora Neale Hurston wrote “All Negro-made church music is dance-possible… The service is really drama with music.  And since music without motion is unnatural among Negroes there is always something that approaches dancing – in fact, IS dancing – in such a ceremony.  So the congregation is restored to its primitive altars under the new name of Christ.”

This description must describe to a tee the experience of being at a service held by the Reverend D.C. Rice. Recordings begin with words of teachings, short passages from the bible, warnings not to stray from the path of good and then.. the good reverend, his congregation, musicians and singers erupt into a joyful (it is tempting to use the word riotous) sound that brings together jazz and gospel, in a way that would be inspirational to the most ardent non-believer. 

After hearing the recordings of Reverend J. M. Gates and most especially by those of Rev. F.W. McGee the Rev D. C. Rice was inspired to make his own records and so went to see Jack Kapp at Vocalion Records. Kapp told the reverend to return the next Saturday with his congregation to make some tests and that he would then evaluate them.  Rice did, but Kapp rejected them, saying “I wouldn’t give you a nickel for your music.”  However, Kapp had second thoughts about the recordings and by the following Wednesday had decided to call Rice asking him to return the next Saturday, ready to record, which he did. Rice never did understand this about face, unless it was a negotiating ploy: in any case, he rejected a royalty arrangement, and instead received $75 per record side. By May of 1928, his records were all over Chicago, and by August he had ten issued sides available. Soon he was also broadcasting Sunday services. The reverend’s Sunday itinerary would now include turning up at the recording studio in the morning to make records and then a short journey to an adjacent studio for his live 12.30 radio broadcast.

Home SearchSpecials Services MP3'sArchive News Contact View Cart