Document Records - Vintage Blues and Jazz

Document Records
Papa Charlie Jackson Vol 1: August 1924 to February 1926

7.49    7.49 New
Sorry | Temporarily Out of Stock

This album can be downloaded, fully or by individual tracks, directly from these recommended on-line retailers. Cover artwork may differ to that shown here.

Available as a download on iTunes

Available as a download on eMusic


Papa Charlie Jackson
Ida Cox


Papa Charlie Jackson
01 - Papa`s lawdy lawdy blues
02 - Airy man's blues
03 - Salt Lake City blues (take 2)
04 - Salty dog blues (take 2)
05 - The cats got the measles
06 - I got what it takes but it breaks my heart to give it away (take 2)
07 - Shave `em dry (take 2)
08 - Coffee pot blues (take 1)
09 - Mister man - part 1 (take 2)(duet with Ida Cox)
10 - Mister man - part 2 (duet with Ida Cox)
11 - Shake that thing (take 2)
12 - The faking blues (take 2)
13 - I`m Alabama bound
14 - Drop that sack
15 - Hot papa blues (take 2)
16 - Take me back blues
17 - Mama don`t allow it (and she ain`t gonna have it here)
18 - Mama, don`t you think I know? (take 2)
19 - How long daddy, how long (Ida Cox, vocal)
20 - Maxwell Street blues
21 - All I want is a spoonful
22 - I`m going where the chilly winds don`t blow (take 2)
23 - Texas blues (take 1)
24 - Texas blues (take 2)
25 - I`m tired of fooling around with you
26 - Jackson`s blues
27 - Let`s get along

Papa Charlie Jackson, vocal, banjo, guitar.
2 tracks as by Ida Cox and Papa Charlie Jackson, vocal duet; accompanied by Charlie Jackson, banjo.
1 tracks as by Ida Cox, vocal; accompanied by Papa Charlie Jackson, banjo.

Review by Bruce Eder

The first 27 of Papa Charlie Jackson's recorded works is, on about ten counts, one of the most important blues documents you can find, dating all the way back to August of 1924, before there was even electrical recording or a true definition to "blues." Indeed, the popular highlight is a dance number called Shake That Thing, which fairly overwhelmed a lot of Jackson's truer blues records with its beat. The opening number, Papa's Lawdy Lawdy Blues, shows a kind of formative blues, with it and its B-side Airy Man (aka "Hairy Man") Blues closer in spirit to comic novelty numbers.

The hybrid banjo-guitar that Jackson played was an absolute necessity on these and his other early records, for it was more audible than any guitar of the era would have been, and serves to keep a beat as well as provide full accompaniment. Salt Lake City Blues is closer to our modern definition of blues, a romantic lament that's as honest and cheerful as it is sexist. Jackson's first version of Salty Dog Blues is here, along with what is probably the earliest reference to Chicago's outdoor blues Mecca in Maxwell Street Blues, dating from September of 1925. Other topical references to the future blues capital city can be heard in Jackson's Blues, dealing with a local politician, and also worth checking out in that regard is Mama Don't Allow It, telling of a country girl's descent into prostitution after coming to the big city. Also here is one of the earliest known source records for Willie Dixon's composition "Spoonful", entitled All I Want Is a Spoonful (though anyone only familiar with the versions by Cream won't really recognize it), and a primordial incarnation of "I'm Alabama Bound" (later immortalized by Leadbelly).

The audio quality is amazingly good throughout this disc (the only big exceptions, unfortunately, being the two duets with Ida Cox and the two takes of Texas Blues, which are really in rough shape), and the sessionography and annotation are reasonably thorough, given how little we actually know about Jackson.

Home SearchSpecials Services MP3'sArchive News Contact View Cart