Document Records - Vintage Blues and Jazz

Document Records
Blind Boy Fuller Vol 5: 29th October 1938 to 5th March 1940

9.99    9.99 New
Sorry | Temporarily Out of Stock

This album can be downloaded, fully or by individual tracks, directly from these recommended on-line retailers. Cover artwork may differ to that shown here.

Available as a download on iTunes

Available as a download on eMusic


Blind Boy Fuller


Blind Boy Fuller
01 - Stop jivin` me mama Listen
02 - Long time trucker Listen
03 - Big house bound Listen
04 - Flyin` airplane blues Listen
05 - Get your yas yas out Listen
06 - Jitterbug rag Listen
07 - Screaming and crying blues Listen
08 - Blacksnakin` jiver Listen
09 - I don`t care how long Listen
10 - You`ve got something there Listen
11 - Baby quit your low down ways (take 1) Listen
12 - Baby quit your low down ways (take 2) Listen
13 - It doesn`t matter baby Listen
14 - Black bottom blues Listen
15 - I crave my pig meat Listen
16 - Big leg woman gets my pay Listen
17 - I`m a stranger here Listen
18 - Red`s got the piccolo blues Listen
19 - I want some of your pie Listen
20 - Jivin` Big Bill blues Listen
21 - Woman you better wake up Listen
22 - Step it up and go Listen
23 - Worn out engine blues Listen

Blind Boy Fuller, vocal, guitar.
With contributions by Sonny Terry, harmonica; Bull City Red, washboard; possibly Sonny Jones, guitar.
Genres: Country blues, Piedmont blues, Carolina blues, country blues guitar, Ragtime guitar, Blues harmonica.
Informative booklet notes by Ken Romanowski.
Detailed discography.
Review by Jason Ankeny:

Volume five in Document’s Blind Boy Fuller series is comprised primarily of two prolific sessions, the first recorded in Columbia, South Carolina on October 29, 1938 with harpist Sonny Terry and washboard player Bull City Red, the second a Memphis date from July 12, 1939 with Terry, Bull City Red (now going as Oh Red) and second guitarist Sonny Jones.

The latter is perhaps the most impressive, yielding the signature song I Want Some of Your Pie as well as You’ve Got Something There (a rewrite of Buddy Moss’ “Daddy Don’t Care”) and Fuller’s immortal rendition of J.B. Long’s Step It Up and Go.

Home SearchSpecials Services MP3'sArchive News Contact View Cart