Document Records - Vintage Blues and Jazz

Document Records
Jim Jackson Vol 1 1927 - 1928

9.99    9.99 New
Sorry | Temporarily Out of Stock

This album can be downloaded, fully or by individual tracks, directly from these recommended on-line retailers. Cover artwork may differ to that shown here.

Available as a download on iTunes

Available as a download on eMusic


Jim Jackson


Jim Jackson
01 - Jim Jackson`s Kansas City blues - pt. 1 Listen
02 - Jim Jackson`s Kansas City blues - pt. 2 Listen
03 - He`s in the jailhouse now Listen
04 - Old dog blue Listen
05 - My Monday blues (c-1639-test) Listen
06 - Mobile Central blues Listen
07 - Jim Jackson`s Kansas City blues - pt. 3 Listen
08 - Jim Jackson`s Kansas City blues - pt. 4 Listen
09 - My Monday blues Listen
10 - I`m a bad bad man Listen
11 - I`m gonna start me a graveyard of my own Listen
12 - My Monday woman blues (take 1) Listen
13 - I heard the voice of a pork chop (take 1) Listen
14 - I heard the voice of a pork chop (take 2) Listen
15 - My Monday woman blues (take 3) Listen
16 - My Mobile Central blues Listen
17 - Old dog blue Listen
18 - Bootlegging blues Listen
19 - Policy blues (take 1) Listen
20 - Policy blues (take 2) Listen
21 - I`m wild about my lovin` (take 2) Listen
22 - This morning she was gone (take 1) Listen
23 - This morning she was gone (take 2) Listen

Jim Jackson Vol 1 1927 - 1928

Jim Jackson, vocal, guitar.

Genres: Country Blues, Country Blues Guitar, Memphis Blues.

Informative booklet notes by Chris Smith.
Detailed discography.

iTunes Review:
Whew. Any collection that opens up with both sides of "Jim Jackson's Kansas City Blues" in its original October 1927 recording (predating RCA's recording of the same number by Jackson by three months) is asking for trouble, because how do you follow up the best double-sided solo blues single this side of Furry Lewis' "Casey Jones, Pts. 1 & 2"? Well, you put on a 1928 rendition of "He's in the Jailhouse Now" that's as soulful as any ever done, and a version of "Old Dog Blue" from January 1928 that could be the earliest blues incarnation of what later became the Bo Diddley beat. And somewhere in there you throw in Jackson's subsequent version of "Kansas City Blues" (the earlier one is better).

And the stuff gets better from there on one of the finest solo artist compilations in the Document line, mostly with good sound, too. In contrast to Furry Lewis and almost any other blues great you'd care to name, Jackson's playing on the guitar was pretty basic (check out "Mobile-Central Blues," a great, bitter, topical song about the blues, that benefits from his repetitive playing), but the success of his work is proof that a smooth style matters more than technical skill, if the voice and the words are there. His playing fit his expressive voice, was not too obtrusive, and gave his voice just the little bit of accompaniment it needed, even embellishing the beat (as on "Old Dog Blue") when required. The sound is generally good, and it's hard to complain about the notes being a little sketchy, given the relatively little hard information known about Jackson. Seventy minutes of pure, sweet, golden acoustic blues, highlighted — with Document's usual thoroughness — by two different takes each of "I Heard the Voice of a Pork Chop," "Policy Blues," and "The Morning She Was Gone."

Home SearchSpecials Services MP3'sArchive News Contact View Cart