Document Records - Vintage Blues and Jazz

Document Records
Leadbelly Vol 1 1939 - 1940

9.99    9.99 New
Sorry | Temporarily Out of Stock



Lead Belly
01 - Daddy I'm Coming Back To You (take 3) Listen
02 - Shorty George (take 2) Listen
03 - Fannin street Listen
04 - Frankie and Albert - First Half Listen
05 - Frankie And Albert - Completion Listen
06 - De Kalb Blues Listen
07 - Looky Looky Yonder / Black Betty / Yellow Women's Door Bells (On A Monday) Listen
08 - The Bourgeois Blues Listen
09 - Poor Howard / Green Corn Listen
10 - The Boll Weevil Listen
11 - The Gallis Pole Listen
12 - Ain't Goin' Down To The Well No Mo' / Go Down Old Hannah Listen

Lead Belly with The Golden Quartet
13 - Pick A Bale Of Cotton Listen
14 - Whoa Back Buck Listen
15 - Midnight Special Listen
16 - Alabama Bound Listen
17 - Rock Island Line Listen

Lead Belly
18 - Good Morning Blues Listen
19 - Leaving Blues Listen
20 - TB Blues Listen
21 - Red Cross Store Blues Listen
22 - Sail On Little Girl Sail On Listen
23 - Roberta Listen
24 - Alberta Listen
25 - I'm On My Last Go-Round Listen

DOCD-5226 Leadbelly Complete Recorded Works 1939 – 1947 Volume 1 (1st April 1939 to 15th June 1940). Lead Belly’s Commercial recordings.
Blues and ballads
Lead Belly, vocal twelve-string guitar
Includes performance by The Golden Gate Quartet
Booklet Notes Ken Romaowski
Detailed discography
In early 1939, Lead Belly was involved in a fight with another man whom he allegedly stabbed 16 times with a knife. The judge saw fit to give Lead Belly a sentence of one year (due to the fact that in between sentencing, reports Lead Belly had apprehended a bank robber and held him until the police had arrived.
To help meet Lead Belly's legal costs, Alan Lomax arranged a session with the fledgling Musicraft label. On April 1s,t 1939, Lead Belly stepped into the studio and recorded material for what was to become a five disc album (five 78 rpm records) titled "Negro Sinful Songs sung by Lead Belly". Even though Lead Belly had recorded over two hundred titles for the Library of Congress, he was virtually unknown to the record buying public. But with this album Lead Belly was to find his own attentive audience in the budding urban folk scene.
Tracks 3 to 12 are taken from this session, which ran the gamut of styles from field hollers Go Down Old Hannah, work songs Looky Looky Yonder and Black Betty, a variant of the “Child Ballad No. 95”, The Gallis Pole, Afro-American ballads; Frankie & Albert and Boll Weevil, reels Poor Howard and Green Corn - which includes Lead Belly tap dancing between the two tunes, blues, including the traditional De Kalb Blues, the autobiographical Bourgeois Blues and Fannin' Street.
The rest of the tracks were recorded in New York city on 15th June 1940 for the RCA Victor who were looking toward breaking into the folk / educational market. The sessions were divided between folk material from his songster repertory, accompanied by the Golden Gate Quartet and blues material which he performed solo The older folk songs like Pick A Bale Of Cotton and Midnight Special were packaged as a three disc album, while the blues song were issued as single discs on RCA’s budget label Bluebird. 
The first two tracks on the CD; Daddy I'm Coming Home To You and Shorty George, are two unissued sides from Lead Belly’s first commercial recording session which for ARC.
Home SearchSpecials Services MP3'sArchive News Contact View Cart