Document Records - Vintage Blues and Jazz

Document Records
Leadbelly Vol 3 1939 - 1947

7.49    7.49 New
Sorry | Temporarily Out of Stock


01 - Cow cow yicky yea / Out on the western plains
02 - Noted rider / Big fat woman / Borrow love and go
03 - John Hardy
04 - Meeting at the building / Talking preaching / We shall walk through the valley
05 - Fiddler`s dream / Yallow gal / Green corn
06 - Bring me lil water Silvy / Julia Ann Johnson / Line 'em / Whoa Back Buck
07 - Roberta
08 - Bill Brady
09 - Where did you sleep last night?
10 - Yellow gal
11 - When the boys were out on the western plains
12 - Pretty flowers in your backyard
13 - In New Orleans
14 - John Hardy
15 - I`ve a pretty flowers
16 - Don`t lie buddy
17 - How do you know / Don't mind the weather
18 - (What are) little boys (made of) / Let me hold your hand (all for you) / Polly Wolly (Polly) Wee
19 - Skip to my Lou / Christmas day (It's almost day)
20 - Little Sally Walker / ha ha thisaway / Red bird
21 - Outskirts of town
22 - Red river / Black girl (In the pines) / Don't miss your water blues
23 - Blind Lemon (Memorial record)
24 - Leadbelly`s dance
25 - Mother`s blues (Little children blues)
26 - Mo` yet / (Little boy) how old are you / There's a limb on the tree (Green grass all around)

Leadbelly: Vol. 2 Complete recorded titles c. October 1943 to 25th April 1944
Leadbelly, vocal, twelve-string guitar, tap dancing, speech, button accordion, piano.
With contributions by Josh White, guitar; Sonny Terry, harmonica.
Genres: Texas Country Blues, Ballads, Children’s Songs
Informative booklet notes by Ken Romanowski.
Detailed discography.
Although John and Alan Lomax were responsible for Leadbelly's discovery, it was Moses Asch who gave Huddie room for professional growth through extensive recording, contact with the urban folk revival and most importantly by keeping Leadbelly's songs available to the public. Asch grew up in an ideologically, progressive Jewish household, which left him with a lifelong intellectual curiosity and an empathy for proletarian concerns. By the 1920's he became interested in radio and folk music, eventually combining the two to form Asch Records in 1939.
At the beginning of the 40's Asch struck a business relationship with Leadbelly which spawned frequent and numerous recordings. The first six tracks on this Leadbelly album were released as an album of three 12 inch 78's titled "Negro Folk Songs". A magnificent version of John Hardy accompanied by his Cajun flavoured concertina is featured here. The rest of the songs from this session repeated some of his more famous numbers, but is still an excellent overview of Leadbelly's repertoire and covers blues, ballads, reels, cowboy songs, spirituals and work songs. Another highlight is his piano playing on the blues title Big Fat Woman. The other tracks on this presented here are from four sessions in early 1944, which include wonderful renditions of Where Did You Sleep Last Night? (a track which Kurt Cobain of Nirvana sang on the live "Unplugged in New York" album), House Of The Rising Sun and a remake of John Hardy with guitar accompaniment. However, the standout track is probably the Blind Lemon (Memorial Record) where Leadbelly demonstrates the type of song Lemon would have performed on the streets of Dallas whilst Leadbelly would tap dance, a sample of which follows on Leadbelly's Dance.
Lead Belly's further recorded output can be found on Documents DOCD-1018, DOCD-5226, DOCD-5227, DOCD-5228, DOCD-5276, DOCD-5310, DOCD-5311, DOCD-5411, DOCD-5461, DOCD-5568, DOCD-5579, DOCD-5591, DOCD-5592, DOCD-5593, DOCD-5594, DOCD-5595, DOCD-5640, DOCD-5664, DOCD-5659, DOCD-5676
Home SearchSpecials Services MP3'sArchive News Contact View Cart