Document Records - Vintage Blues and Jazz

Document Records
Victoria Spivey Vol 3 1929 - 1936

£9.99    9.99 New
Sorry | Temporarily Out of Stock

Victoria Spivey


Victoria Spivey
01 - Blood hound blues Listen
02 - Dirty T.B. blues Listen
03 - Moaning the blues Listen
04 - Telephoning the blues Listen
05 - New York blues Listen
06 - Lonesome with the blues Listen
07 - Showered with the blues Listen
08 - Haunted by the blues Listen

Victoria Spivey and Porter Grainger vocal duet
09 - You`ve gotta have what it takes - part 1 Listen
10 - You`ve gotta have what it take - part 2 Listen
11 - Baulin` water blues - part 1 Listen
12 - Baulin` water blues - part 2 Listen

Magnolia Harris (prob. Victoria Spivey) JT "Funny Paper" Smith
13 - Mama`s quittin` and leavin` - part 1
14 - Mama`s quittin` and leavin` - part 2

Victoria Spivey
15 - Nebraska blues Listen
16 - He wants too much Listen
17 - Low down man blues Listen
18 - Don`t trust nobody blues Listen
19 - Dreaming `bout my man Listen
20 - Sweet pease Listen
21 - Black snake swing Listen
22 - I`ll never fall in love again Listen
23 - TB`s got me Listen

Victoria Spivey Vol 3: 1st October 1929 to 7th July 1936

Victoria Spivey, vocal.
Includes: J.T. "Funny Paper" Smith, vocal, guitar; Porter Grainger, vocal, piano, Teddy Bunn, guitar; J.C. Higginbotham, trompbone; Pops Foster, stand-up bass, Georgia Tom Dorsey, piano; Henry Allen, trumpet; Chick Gordon, Leon Washington, saxes. And others...
Genres: Female vocal blues

Informative booklet notes by Chris Smith
Detailed discography.

For her second session on the Victor label, Victoria Spivey was again accompanied by Luis Russell's orchestra, but this time the records were credited to her alone, rather than as featured vocalist with the band. All concerned at this date were in excellent form, and Spivey brought along a strong set of songs. Blood Hound Blues tells a melodramatic story of imprisonment and escape and Dirty T. B. Blues also speaks of confinement. Spivey was probably trying to write another hit song about the "white plague" but the song reflects the realties of life in the overcrowded ghettos of the North and seems far from cold calculation as she projects herself into the situation of a patient deserted by friends and relatives and feeling that she has been left to die, forgotten.

When changing labels from OKeh to Victor, Spivey had negotiated a recording contract for her sister Addie, nicknamed "Sweet Peas" and members of the Russell band accompanied Addie's November 1929 session (Document Jazz Perspectives JPCD-1506-2). When Victoria, herself, returned to the studio early in 1930, only Luis Russell and his guitarist were with her, perhaps because the company was already trying to economise under the weight of the Depression. Her next and last Victor sessions, found Spivey teamed with the great guitarist Teddy Bunn and a pseudonymous Porter Grainger.

Feeling the need to look for new opportunities, Spivey moved to Chicago in 1930 and took up with Vocalion. It seems very likely that she was the "Magnolia Harris" who duetted with "Howling Smith".


Home SearchSpecials Services MP3'sArchive News Contact View Cart