Document Records - Vintage Blues and Jazz

Document Records
Roy Harvey Vol 1 1926 - 1927

9.99    9.99 New
Sorry | Temporarily Out of Stock

Roy Harvey
Posey Rorer
North Carolina Ramblers
Roy Harvey and Bob Hoke
Roy Harvey and Posey Rorer
Roy Harvey and The North Carolina Ramblers


Roy Harvey and The North Carolina Ramblers
01 - The brave engineer Listen

Roy Harvey and Posey Rorer
02 - Dark eyes Listen
03 - Willie, poor boy Listen
04 - When the bees are in the hive Listen
05 - Daisies won`t tell Listen

Roy Harvey and The North Carolina Ramblers
06 - The wreck of Virginian no. 3 Listen

Roy Harvey and Bob Hoke
07 - Please papa come home Listen
08 - The old clay pipe Listen

Roy Harvey
09 - Write a letter to my mother Listen
10 - Poor little Joe Listen

Roy Harvey and Bob Hoke
11 - We will outshine the sun Listen
12 - Walking on the streets of glory Listen

North Carolina Ramblers
13 - I cannot call her mother Listen
14 - Pearl Bryant Listen

Roy Harvey and The North Carolina Ramblers
15 - Take back the ring Listen
16 - Willie my darling Listen
17 - Give my love to Nell Listen
18 - My mother and my sweetheart Listen
19 - She is only a bird in a gilded cage Listen
20 - Bill Mason Listen
21 - Kitty Blye Listen
22 - I`m glad I`m married Listen
23 - Sweet sunny south Listen
24 - Blue eyes Listen

This is the first of four volumes featuring the complete recorded works of the hillbilly recording artist, Roy Harvey. The 4 volume set follows Harvey's recording career over a five year period from his first recordings in New York in September 1926 to his last recording session in Atlanta, October 1931 and includes some of the finest hillbilly recordings of the era. Roy Harvey was a good singer and an excellent guitarist and he made music his business. It was his good fortune that led him to the charismatic banjo player Charlie Poole. Their first session in the studio together was in September 1926 alongside Posey Rorer on fiddle to record "The Brave Engineer", this track was coupled with a later recording "The Wreck of Virginian No. 3", another railroad tragedy song. Roy and Posey recorded again in May 1927 in Atlanta. In the meantime Charlie Poole's career was taking off and every label in the hillbilly business wanted a piece of North Carolina stringband action. Roy Harvey was able to use this to his advantage and he soon took over the band name of North Carolina Ramblers. Without Charlie Poole in the line-up perhaps the performances lacked some of Poole's sparkle but then again the recordings are well-played, touching and evocative - just what you want to hear in this genre of music. Includes informative booklet notes by Tony Russell and full discographical details.

Home SearchSpecials Services MP3'sArchive News Contact View Cart