Document Records - Vintage Blues and Jazz

Document Records
Roy Harvey Vol 2 1928 - 1929

9.99    9.99 New
Sorry | Temporarily Out of Stock

North Carolina Ramblers
Roy Harper and Earl Shirkey
Leonard Copeland
Roy Harvey
Earl Shirkey
Roy Harvey and Leonard Copeland
Earl Shirkey and Roy Harper


Roy Harvey and The North Carolina Ramblers
01 - The Bluefield murder Listen
02 - I`ll be there, Mary dear Listen
03 - What is home without love? Listen
04 - As we parted at the gate Listen
05 - There`s a mother old and gray who needs me now Listen
06 - There`ll come a time Listen
07 - Sweet refrain Listen
08 - Budded roses Listen
09 - Take me back to home and mother Listen
10 - George Collins Listen

Earl Shirkey and Roy Harper
11 - Steamboat man Listen
12 - When the roses bloom for the bootlegger Listen
13 - Poor little Joe Listen
14 - We parted at the gate Listen

Roy Harper and Earl Shirkey
15 - The yodeling mule Listen
16 - The cowboy`s lullaby Listen
17 - The bootlegger`s dream of home Listen
18 - The railroad blues Listen
19 - Keep bachelor`s hall Listen
20 - Kitty Waltz yodeling Listen

Roy Harvey and Leonard Copeland
21 - Just pickin` Listen
22 - Beckley rag Listen
23 - Underneath the sugar moon Listen
24 - Lonesome weary blues Listen

This is the second of four volumes featuring the complete recorded works of the hillbilly recording artist, Roy Harvey. The 4 volume set follows Harvey's recording career over a five year period from his first recordings in New York in September 1926 to his last recording session in Atlanta, October 1931 and includes some of the finest hillbilly recordings of the era. In February 1928 Roy Harvey & The North Carolina Ramblers were back in the studio recording a further 10 sides for Brunsick/Vocalion in Ashland, Kentucky. These fine performances included "There'll Come A Time" and "Budded Roses". Roy's musical knowledge was extensive, he was familiar with the old-time repertoire and from his time working in the music store in Beckley, he was aware of the purchasing power of the public, and of the types of sheet music and records they were buying and he put this knowledge to good use. By the end of 1928 Jimmie Rodgers' yodelling style was becoming increasingly popular so Roy under the name of Roy Harper teamed up with an acquaintance named Earl Shirkey who specialised in "real" yodelling. Harper and Shirkey's first release was "When The Roses Bloom For The Bootlegger" and was a big hit, selling over 70,000 copies. In October 1929 Roy Harvey changed his tact once more, this time he paired up with the guitarist Leonard Copeland to record some delectable guitar duets. Roy Harvey's musical journey continues in Volume 3. Includes informative booklet notes by Tony Russell and full discographical details.

Home SearchSpecials Services MP3'sArchive News Contact View Cart