Document Records - Vintage Blues and Jazz

Document Records
The Skillet Lickers Vol 2 1927 - 1928

9.99    9.99 New
Sorry | Temporarily Out of Stock

Riley Puckett
Gid Tanner
Bob Nichols
Norris Fate
Lowe Stokes
Skillet Lickers
Clayton McMichen
Bert Layne


The Skillet-Lickers
01 - Drink 'em down Listen
02 - The darktown strutters` ball Listen
03 - A fiddlers` convention in Georgia - part 1 Listen
04 - A fiddlers` convention in Georgia - part 2 Listen
05 - Old Mcdonald had a farm Listen
06 - Bile them cabbage down Listen
07 - Big ball in town Listen
08 - It`s a long way to Tipperary Listen
09 - Buckin` mule Listen
10 - Uncle Bud Listen
11 - Johnson`s old grey mule Listen
12 - Hen cackle Listen
13 - Cumberland gap Listen
14 - Cotton-eyed Joe Listen
15 - Black eyed Susie Listen
16 - Prettiest little girl in the county Listen
17 - Slow buck Listen
18 - Settin` in the chimney jamb Listen
19 - Sal let me chaw your rosin Listen
20 - Possum hunt on Stump House Mountain - part 1 Listen
21 - Possum hunt on Stump House Mountain - part 2 Listen
22 - Hog killing day - part 1 Listen
23 - Hog killing day - part 2 Listen

This is the second of six volumes featuring the complete recorded works of The Skillet Lickers. The 6 volume set covers some of the finest, and some of the rarest, hillbilly and string band recordings of what is often called the golden age of old-time music. The Skillet Lickers were also known for their sketches, some of which are included in Volume 2. "A Fiddlers' Convention in Georgia" was the first of several such descriptive novelties by Georgian musicians, the gang produces a varied menu of band music and solo specialities, with a greased pig chase for a bonus. "Hog Killing Day" continues the pig theme with Gid Tanner providing the commentary. "Possum Hunt On Stump House Mountain" involves the whole group to provide an impressive track complete with hunting horns, barking hounds and vigorous fiddle-band music. This volume also includes some wonderful fiddling on tracks such as "Cotton Eyed Joe", "Prettiest Little Girl In the County" and "Sal Let Me Chaw Your Rosin." Includes informative booklet notes by Tony Russell with bibliography and full discographical details.

Home SearchSpecials Services MP3'sArchive News Contact View Cart